Understanding The 7 Chakras For Beginners: A Chakra Guide

Today Nicole Clarke is going to help us Understanding The 7 Chakras For Beginners

Traditional Indian medicine believes that there is more to the body than just bones and muscles.

Instead, they believe that the body also contains seven centers of energy, all of which control different body parts. They can be seen as spinning vortexes of energy running along the back.

Together, they make up the body’s aura and are known as the subtle body, or “spiritual body.” Ancient yogis were able to understand these energy forms and used them to find balance and spiritual harmony in their bodies and lives.


What Are The Chakras And What Are The Number Of Chakras

These energies are called the chakras. When one or more of the chakra’s energies is blocked, this can lead to physical, emotional, and mental health issues. Some symptoms could be anxiety and poor digestion, among other health conditions.

This is why it’s important to align your chakras so that everything is well-balanced and energy can flow correctly and be a positive influence for your life. Chakras are usually related to yoga because of the history of yogis. There are also yoga poses that will help activate each chakra and prevent them from being blocked.

Why Chakras And Chakra Names Are Important 

Buddha with chakras

These seven chakras not only influence different parts of your body, but they play a role in your everyday life. When one chakra is off-balance, it can affect specific parts of your life, which is why it’s important to find ways to keep the energy flowing and prevent it from being blocked.

Five of the chakras are connected to physical elements, whereas the last two are associated with elements beyond the earthly realm.

The first five chakras’ symbols are: earth, water, fire, air, and space. The last two are light and cosmic energy. Each of these chakras are connected to different colors, mantras, and yoga poses that can help you get in touch with each energy form and let it flow through your entire being. Chakras locations are distinct parts of the body.

The Root Chakra (Muladhara)

The root chakra is located at the base of the spine, and it is associated with the color red and the earth. Its mantra is lam. This mantra controls your survival instincts as well as your family ties.

When this chakra is balanced, you will feel strength and confidence, as well as self-sufficiency.

You will feel independence and won’t feel the need to rely on anyone. When this chakra is blocked, you will feel dependent on others and you won’t have the confidence to carry out tasks and goals.

Yoga poses that are good for activating this chakra are the Tree pose and Mountain pose.

The Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)

The sacral chakra is associated with the color orange and water. It’s found in the lower abdomen, and it is known to govern the reproductive system. Its mantra is yam. This chakra is known to control your reproductive system and influences creativity, fertility, and fluidity. When it is balanced, you will be stable in your sexuality and sensuality, and your emotions will be calm.

Yoga poses you can do for this chakra are the Cobra, Warrior II, and the Goddess pose (Deviasana).

The Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

This chakra is connected to fire and the color yellow. Its mantra is ram. It is located between your belly button and lower rib cage. This chakra is known to control your power. When it is balanced and flowing evenly, it helps you feel productive and alive.

When it is blocked, you are more likely to feel stagnant and have lower self-esteem when it comes to achieving your goals. This chakra is important to keep balanced because it will help you release your inner power when the energy is flowing well.

A yoga pose associated with the Solar Plexus chakra is the Boat pose (Navasana).

The Heart Chakra (Anahata)

The fourth chakra is located at the heart and represented by air and the color green. Its mantra is yam. This chakra controls love, compassion, acceptance and forgiveness. When the energy is balanced and flowing strongly through the body, it helps your heart heal from wounds and allows it to open again. It also allows you to love unconditionally and form healthy relationships.

A yoga pose for this chakra is the Camel pose (Ustrasana).

The Throat Chakra (Visshuda)

The mantra for this chakra is ham. It is associated with ether, or space, and is represented by the color blue. This chakra governs communication and expression. When this chakra is balanced, you will be able to communicate your thoughts and emotions well, and you’ll listen to others without judging them. When this chakra is blocked, you may feel like you have lost your voice and you might talk too much without listening to what others have to say.

A yoga pose for this chakra is the Bridge pose and the supported shoulder stand (Salamba Sarvanagasana).

The Third Eye Chakra (Anja)

This is one of the chakras that is not associated with the earthly elements. It is connected to light and the color indigo. It is located between the eyebrows, thus the third eye. Its mantra is om. This chakra is known for wisdom, realization, and self-awareness.

It’s also supposed to tap into your sixth sense so you will be able to trust your inner wisdom.

When this chakra is blocked, you will see the world more narrow-mindedly, and you will be too logical, untrusting, and pessimistic. When it is flowing well, it helps you to see the bigger picture and different perspectives.

A yoga pose for this chakra is the Easy pose (Suknasana).

The Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

The seventh and final chakra represents cosmic energy and can be represented by either the color violet or white. Its mantra is om. This chakra is supposed to be located on the top of the head, but it actually floats above the head, which is why it is the crown chakra. This energy is related to beauty, our higher selves, and the spiritual world.

It is connected to the universe and your intuition. When this energy is flowing, you feel happiness and peace within and you will be in a peaceful, angelic state of being.

All of these chakras play an important part in feeling balanced. Practicing yoga with the knowledge of these chakras will help your energy flow better and feel more connected to your body and state of mind. In addition, this can help with stress management and anxiety because focusing on your inner chakras will help to relax your mind and let the energy flow through your body.

Author Bio: Nicole Clarke works as a content writer for NamaSlayCrew. If you’re interested in a women’s yoga community, NamaSlayCrew is a community of badass chicks who promote self-love and girl power. We’re into yoga and feeling your best! Join the crew at www.namaslaycrew.com or follow us on social media. Eat. Pray. Slay!

Comments are closed.